About Hotel Cape Charles
Hotel Cape Charles is a unique lodging experience inspired by the welcoming spirit of a small historic town and the natural beauty of our surroundings. Just three blocks from the expansive town beach, our 22-room property is modern, approachable, and ever-evolving.
We are fascinated by the history of the area.
Our building was constructed circa 1920 and operated as the McCarthy Hotel through the 1950’s.
Cape Charles thrived during this period as the rail terminus of the New York, Pennsylvania, and Norfolk Railroad and the terminal for the Little Creek-Cape Charles Ferry, providing passenger, commercial and car ferry service across the Chesapeake Bay to Hampton Roads. During its peak, the Little Creek Ferry operated 90 one-way trips each day with seven vessels.
The final ferry departed in 1963 with the opening of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel in 1964.
Cape Charles experienced a rapid economic decline without railroad and ferry service.
A hotel opened briefly in 2007 but closed during the recession of 2010.
The current owners purchased the property at a foreclosure sale in 2010. Following a two year renovation, Hotel Cape Charles welcomed its first guests. The 2012 opening of the newly renovated Hotel marked the beginning of an economic renaissance in Cape Charles.
As the Hotel has grown and prospered, so too has the Town of Cape Charles.
As of 2023, travelers from approximately 200 countries have visited and the Hotel has hosted over 72,000 guests.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us.